Steward of the Year Award

2018: Charity Powell, Teacher

The Lower Columbia Estuary Partnership is pleased to announce Charity Powell as our 2018 Steward of the Year. Charity has been a teacher for more than 16 years, and she understands the importance of outdoor learning. Growing up in Monmouth, Oregon, she had a love for paddling, rafting and hiking, and always had a passion for environmental studies. Charity moved to Portland to attend the University of Portland, and it was there she fell in love with the Columbia River.  
Early in her career, she was introduced to the Estuary Partnership, and worked with us to provide outdoor science lessons to her elementary school students for five years. She appreciated how the program focuses on student inquiry, hands-on experiences, and connecting science and watershed learning to the broader environment and humans’ relationship to it.  
Charity is now a special education instructor with Portland Public Schools. She loves to get outside with her family. Charity is married with a three-year-old daughter, Lucy, and their family dog, Matilda.


2017: Patrick Lee, Clark County Public Works

2016: Dave Ripp, Executive Director, Port of Camas-Washougal

2015: Lower Columbia Estuary Partnership Founders

2014: Hillary Barbour, Office of US Congressman Earl Blumenauer

2013: The Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde

2012: The Honorable Joan Dukes, Northwest Power & Conservation Council
           Louise Solliday, Oregon State Government

2011: Amy Borde, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
           Lyndal Johnson, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
           Jennifer Morace, US Geological Survey

2010: The Honorable Jeff Merkley, US Senate
          The Honorable Earl Blumenauer, US House of Representatives

2009: Susan Holveck, Beaverton School District

2007: Alice Ott Middle School students, teachers, and principal
          Girls Scouts of the Columbia River Council

2006: Jeff Rooklidge & Wahkiakum High School students, Wahkiakum High School

2005: Wilson Cady, Georgia-Pacific

2002: Louise Solliday, Office of Governor Kitzhaber

2001: Terry Hussman, Washington Department of Ecology (posthumous)


About the Award

Restoring and protecting the lower Columbia River and Estuary requires the efforts of many people and groups. We recognize and celebrate the hard work and dedication it takes to protect and restore the river with our Steward of the Year Award. 

The annual award, instituted in 2001 and presented during our Annual Dinner & Gala, recognizes exceptional stewardship by a group, entity, organization, business, government agency, or individual towards the restoration and protection of the lower Columbia River and Estuary. 

Stewards of the Year represent any sector of the community and any area of focus of the Estuary Partnership: habitat protection, water quality, land conservation and protection, education and community engagement, or leadership.  These recipients have all demonstrated this outstanding stewardship and commitment to the protection and conservation of the lower Columbia River.